Teaching Practice- Dodge Volume II

 

  • I don’t have any major reaction when changing kids diapers. I do not get disgusted easily. I also do not mind being on diaper duty. I am the oldest of my siblings so I was changing their diapers when they were babies. I don’t change diapers as often as I used to now that they are older and my focus is mostly on working with Pre-K aged kids. My feelings about diaper changes influence my interactions with children during this routine. I could sing a song to the child, narrate my actions or any other way to make the routine a positive interaction.

 

  • Sometimes I feel overwhelmed when a child in my classroom has a toileting accident because it adds another thing on the list and pushes back the schedule but, I do not respond with anger or any negative emotion. I usually think to myself ‘what could be the cause for the accident?’. The reasons that come to my mind could be a nightmare, trauma, or neurological issues. I respond neutrally and reassure the child that accidents happen. I have the child still go to the bathroom and compete the routine, as I get a change of clothes for them to change into. By responding this way, it won’t make the child feel embarrassed or upset. They will be more encouraged to make it quicker next time.

 

  • I would want to teach children potty words while they are learning to use the toilet. I would tell them that they are potty words so that they can get used to the words that come along with going to the bathroom. I would also remind students to go to the bathroom as a routine such as every time they come in the morning. I would tell them “your body wants to let go of the water and food in your stomach. If you hold it in for so long or do go enough, you might have an accident.”

Leave a Reply